Lexi Thompson falls foul of yet another controversial golf ruling!

Thompson makes rules blunder at Honda LPGA Thailand

Andy Roberts's picture
Fri, 23 Feb 2018

Lexi Thompson falls foul of yet another controversial golf ruling!

Lexi Thompson made a rules blunder on day two of the Honda LPGA Thailand and very nearly signed for an incorrect scorecard that would have sent her packing from the tournament.

While details of the incident are uncertain, a report from Golf Digest claims Thompson's ball came to rest near an advertising board at the 15th hole, and the American believed the sign was a moveable obstruction - but it wasn't. 

It’s unclear who Thompson consulted before making her decision, but it doesn’t appear she sought out a rules official.

Thompson was told of the two-stroke penalty while she was in the scorers’ tent just moments before submitting her signed scorecard, and she signed for a second-round 68 rather than 66 to lie six strokes behind 36-hole leader Jessica Korda heading into the weekend.

videoplayback (1).mp4