LIV Golf League 2023: Team names, players, captains

The 2023 LIV Golf League will be played over 14 events. Here is everything you need to know about the teams, captains and their team names. 

Ben Smith's picture
Thu, 23 Feb 2023
LIV Golf League 2023: Team names, players, captains

Anyone associated with the LIV Golf League will tell you the team aspect is really important. 

It's their unique selling point and those involved with the breakaway tour hope that it will grab the attention of new fans. 

Tour commissioner Greg Norman has explained LIV are trying to implement a successful franchise model similar to the NBA and NHL. 

Norman hailed LIV's "beta-test" 2022 as "game-changing" that is delivering an "innovative, one-of-a-kind experience" for players and fans. 

Whether LIV Golf will truly deliver on this aspect remains to be seen. But they cannot be accused of not going all in.

Ahead of the 2023 LIV Golf League, a few changes were announced. Some team names were altered whilst some logos were re-designed. 

Cameron Smith liked Ripper GC more than Punch GC. Bubba Watson ditched Niblicks GC and opted for RangeGoats GC. 

The roster of players has now been confirmed and the highest-ranked player to join the breakaway tour is Thomas Pieters. 

The Belgian World No. 34, has put a potential Ryder Cup spot in jeopardy with his decision. 

Pieters has been joined by Brendan Steele, Danny Lee and and Dean Burmester as the signees in the off-season. 

Six players who competed in the season-ending LIV Golf Team Championship in Miami in October 2022 have been axed from the start of the new 2023 LIV Golf League season in Mexico. 

Below, GolfMagic has listed all of the teams, players and their captains. 

The 2023 LIV Golf League will consist of 13 tournaments and a $50m Team Championship at Royal Greens in Jeddah. 

Scroll down... 

Related: How much every player won in LIV Golf's first season

LIV Golf League 2023 team names and captains:

4 Aces GC

Captain: Dustin Johnson 


  • Peter Uihlein
  • Pat Perez
  • Patrick Reed

Crushers GC 

Captain: Bryson DeChambeau


  • Paul Casey
  • Charles Howell III
  • Anirban Lahiri

Fireballs GC

Captain: Sergio Garcia


  • Abraham Ancer
  • Carlos Ortiz
  • Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra

Cleeks GC

Captain: Martin Kaymer


  • Graeme McDowell
  • Bernd Wiesberger
  • Richard Bland

Hy Flyers GC

Captain: Phil Mickelson


  • Cameron Tringale
  • James Piot
  • Brendan Steele

Iron Heads GC

Captain: Kevin Na


  • Scott Vincent
  • Sihwan Kim
  • Danny Lee

Majesticks GC 

Captain: Ian Poulter


  • Henrik Stenson 
  • Lee Westwood
  • Sam Horsfield

RangeGoats GC

Captain: Bubba Watson


  • Thomas Pieters 
  • Talor Gooch
  • Harold Varner III

Ripper GC

Captain: Cameron Smith


  • Marc Leishman 
  • Matt Jones
  • Jed Morgan

Smash GC

Captain: Brooks Koepka


  • Chase Koepka
  • Jason Kokrak 
  • Matthew Wolff

Stinger GC

Captain: Louis Oosthuizen


  • Charl Schwartzel 
  • Branden Grace
  • Dean Burmester

Torque GC 

Captain: Joaquin Niemann


  • Mito Pereira
  • Sebastian Munoz
  • David Puig

Next page: LIV Golf League 2023