Do you remember this BIZARRE rules controversy from AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am?

D.A. Points was disqualified from the 2014 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am for using a training aid during the tournament.

Matt Chivers's picture
Tue, 28 Sep 2021

Do you remember this BIZARRE rules controversy from AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am?

In 2014, D.A. Points was disqualified from the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am for using a training aid during the tournament.

Points was on the 18th hole of the second round, playing alongside Phil Mickelson, and he was seen on camera using a type of medicine ball tucked under his right arm.

This aid is used for various reasons, but the main one being that it helps to keep your right arm close to your body when you swing back, keeping control and stability in your swing.

Points was disqualified for the illegal use of a training aid at the famous venue and this was in line with rule 14.3 of the USGA Rules of Golf.

RELATED: BELTON WOODS | THE GREATEST GOLF HOTEL IN LINCOLNSHIRE

The rule stated that during a competitive round, the player must not use an artificial device or unusual equipment that might help their swing.

Unfortunately for the American, the punishment was disqualification but he was still able to participate in the traditional Pro-Am, which often sees many famous faces from the entertainment industry participate.

While Points was swinging with the aid underneath his arm, Mickelson and his caddie Bones Mackay didn't seem to notice.

It was a strange incident because although every golfer wants to gain as many advantages as possible, the infringement of the rules seemed a bit needless.

RELATED: JORDAN SPIETH'S RYDER CUP PUTTER STROP - WE CAN ALL RELATE TO THIS!

Every professional golfer spends hours and hours on the driving range perfecting their game, but is there any need to take your aids to the course and risk being disqualified?

The 44-year-old's disqualification came as a great contrast to his 2011 PGA Tour season when he won the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.

Points went on to win three events on the PGA Tour, but he currently does not have an official world ranking.

 

 

NEXT PAGE: BRYSON DECHAMBEAU GEARS UP FOR HIS WORLD LONG DRIVE CHAMPIONSHIP DEBUT!