PGA Tour pro blasted for 'anchoring' his putter: "Don't give me this nonsense!"

Si Woo Kim caught the attention of golf fans for allegedly anchoring his putter at the AT&T Byron Nelson. 

Ben Smith's picture
Mon, 15 May 2023
PGA Tour pro blasted for 'anchoring' his putter: "Don't give me this nonsense!"

Si Woo Kim's dubious putting technique caught the attention of some golf fans over the weekend on the PGA Tour

Kim was playing in the AT&T Byron Nelson at TPC Craig Ranch and almost chased down Jason Day

But the Australian, 35, came up with a clutch birdie finish in Texas to return to the winner's circle for the first time in more than five years and later revealed he almost quit the game such was his personal and physical struggles. 

As for Kim, he posted a bogey-free final round of 63, gaining 3.499 strokes on the green. Though some would argue he had some help by allegedly anchoring his putter. 

PGA Tour Champions player Bernhard Langer is also fond of the belly putter and has always faced accusations his technique on the greens is more than a bit suspect. 

Side note: Have you seen Langer's most recent tantrum?

Judge for yourself whether you think Kim is anchoring. 

See here:

Golf fans took a dim view of Kim. One posted this:

Another wrote: 

"Big yikes here. Should have to be very obvious that you aren't anchoring. Don't give me this "my shirt was hanging down and touching my hands" nonsense. 

And another person added:

"The powers that be put a rule in to place (no anchoring) that they have no way of enforcing. They wanted to get rid of long putters...however that didn't and won't ever happen."

What do the rules of golf say about anchoring?

Golf's governing bodies, the R&A and USGA, are clear with what is and what isn't permitted:

When making a stroke, Rule 10.1b says a player 'must' not anchor the club. That is either by:

– Doing it "directly", by holding the club or a "gripping hand" against any part of the body or:

– Using an anchor point and holding a forearm "against any part of the body to use a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club".

You are allowed to hold the club, or gripping hand, against a hand or forearm and if your club, clothes, or that gripping hand, "merely touch" your body or clothing during a stroke – without being held against them – then you won't be guilty of anchoring.

You can read more about it by clicking here

More news!