Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy to come down hard on slow play in TGL

Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy have confirmed a shot clock will be in use in their new TGL. 

Andy Roberts's picture
Mon, 6 Nov 2023
Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy to come down hard on slow play

Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy have confirmed there will be a 40-second shot clock in force when their new tech-based golf league, TGL, tees off on Jan. 9, 2024. 

TGL is a new team-based league with 24 players split across six teams of four.

The new league is the brainchild of golf legends Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy, and it's backed by the PGA Tour

Earlier today, McIlroy bashed LIV Golf while promoting TGL and explain the key differences behind it. 

According to a press release, each TGL team will get four timeouts to use in a match but they will only be allowed to use two of them per session.

Teams also cannot call consecutive timeouts without having hit a shot. 

The 40-second shot clock will be enforced in the TGL by a referee. 

Every time a timeout is called for by a team, they will incur a one-stroke penalty

TGL CEO Mike McCarley said: 

"Instituting a shot clock and timeouts will help make matches entertaining, fast-paced, and exciting for sports fans. These elements also add another level of strategy for the players in how they approach team decisions similar to other sports."

The referee will work in partnership with a booth official to control when the shot clock starts and when a team is assessed a one-stroke penalty. 

TGL will comprise of a 15-match season.

Each match will feature a nine-hole alternate shot session for three players followed by six holes of singles split into three two-hole matches.

Every team will collect a point for each hole it wins. 

Tied matches will go into overtime with a closest-the-pin contest to determine the winner. 

The matches will be confined to two-hour windows.

The action will take place at the SoFi Center at Palm Beach State College in Palm Beach Gardens. 

ESPN will air live coverage of the matches. 

Which golfers are taking part?

Jon Rahm was in the lineup but he chose to withdraw from the TGL last week. 

Rahm's replacement is not yet known. 

  • Tiger Woods
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Justin Thomas
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Collin Morikawa
  • Matthew Fitzpatrick
  • Justin Rose
  • Xander Schauffele 
  • Max Homa
  • Adam Scott
  • Billy Horschel
  • Tyrrell Hatton
  • Tommy Fleetwood
  • Shane Lowry
  • Tom Kim
  • Keegan Bradley
  • Sahith Theegala
  • Cameron Young
  • Min Woo Lee
  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Lucas Glover
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Wyndham Clark

Here's all you need to know about TGL