Tour pro receives brutal TWO-STROKE penalty at PGA Championship

One Tour pro suffered a painful two-stroke penalty Friday at Oak Hill Country Club during the PGA Championship. 

Lara Kuipers's picture
Fri, 19 May 2023
Tour pro receives brutal TWO-STROKE penalty at PGA Championship

One player's PGA Championship hopes may be over before he's even finished his second round Friday at Oak Hill Country Club. 

Cameron Young, 26, had a promising chance to do well this week at the season's second major championship. 

The long hitter is ranked third on the PGA Tour in driving distance, something that was said to be crucial this week at the course, which is being compared to Winged Foot. 

Winged Foot hosted the 2020 U.S. Open, which was won by Bryson DeChambeau, who, at the time, was becoming quite famous for his length off the tee. 

Related: Here's why Mickelson was not penalised for changing his golf ball during his round at US PGA

Young also grew up in New York, the state that the PGA Championship is being held at this year. 

However, on Thursday, the World No. 15 shot a 4-over par 74. 

And on Friday, things only got worse. 

During his round, Young was given a two-stroke penalty by the PGA Championship rules committee for breaching Rule 15.3c

While on the 16th green, which was his seventh hole of the day, Young moved his ball-marker one club head-length over as it was in both Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyama's line. 

However, the rising PGA Tour star failed to move his marker back to the original spot before tapping in his putt, ultimately playing it from the wrong spot. 

The penalty puts him to 8-over par for the tournament through 17 holes Friday, making it very unlikely that he'll make the cut. 

It was projected at 4-over par Friday with still many groups left to begin their second round. 

Take me to more news!