Golfer gets 58 PENALTY STROKES in Senior LPGA Championship!

Lee Ann Walker admits she has not been keeping up with the new rules of golf. 

Andy Roberts's picture
Thu, 17 Oct 2019
0

Lee Ann Walker received a total of 58 penalty strokes en route to missing the cut at the Senior LPGA Championship this week - all because she had not been keeping up to date with the new rules of golf.

The American broke the new rule that was implemented earlier this season whereby caddies can no longer stand behind players to help them line up their shots. 

It was not until the fifth hole of the second round that her playing partners noted her of her wrongdoing, and after a discussion with rules officials on the scene, Walker was required to go back over her previous holes in the tournament and count up all of her infringements. 

"Now that I don't play the LPGA anymore, I don't watch golf," said Walker. 

As a result of her penalty strokes - 42 on day one and 16 on day two - Walker's two-round total came to 217 and that was three more than eventual winner Helen Aldredsson who played four rounds. 

"This is my first competitive round since 2011 or 2012," Walker told Golfweek. "I wasn't mad, I wasn't upset, I was just like 'that's going to add a ton to my scores'. At that point what can you do?"

Despite not realising the new caddie ruling, she did know about the new knee-high drop ruling. 

There might be one consolation prize for Walker, however. 

"I may have made the Guinness Book of World Records," she said. 

Walker made her debut on the LPGA Tour back in 1995 and she played on the circuit for 13 years. 

Comments

Loading Comments...