Mickelson putts in front of "think you know the Rules" sign at Open

Phil Mickelson timely reminded of his recent foul play on Tour during Open practice at Carnoustie. 

Andy Roberts's picture
Wed, 18 Jul 2018

Mickelson putts in front of "think you know the Rules" sign at Open

 

Phil Mickelson was timely reminded of his controversial penalty strokes on Tour by the R&A during his Wednesday practice round at The Open at Carnoustie.

5774263478001


 

Mickelson, who was earlier this week caught flopping a shot over man two feet in front of him, was docked two strokes for playing a moving ball under Rule 14-5 during the US Open at Shinnecock Hills last month.

 

Mickelson also tried tapping down fescue two weeks ago at The Greenbrier, incurring another two-stroke penalty.

And so we're left to wonder about what Phil asked himself back at Shinnecock Hills: "The real question is, ‘What am I going to do next?’”