Tour pro DQs himself after taking incorrect drop when going OB

Tour pro Scott Hend disqualifies himself in India. 

Andy Roberts's picture
Sat, 18 Mar 2023
Tour pro DQs himself after taking incorrect drop when going OB

Three-time European Tour winner Scott Hend disqualified himself during the second round of the DGC Open on the Asian Tour on Friday. 

Hend, who turns 50 this year, took to Twitter to reveal his "muppet move" from a fairway bunker. 

The Australian sent his shot OB and then instead of replaying the shot under a one-stroke penalty from the original spot in the sand, he took a drop within a club length but outside the bunker.

This is against the rules. 

Thankfully the "muppet move" did not cost him too much as he was already on his miss way to a missed cut.

Hend revealed all on Twitter: 

For those wondering why I was DQ'd today in India..... Well, I hit a ball out of a bunker on the 18th, ball was lost, I then went back dropped a ball within a club length of the original place.
Walking down the fairway after play'n the shot I wondered if I dropped in a incorrect postion..... well YES I did, I should have dropped back in the bunker. I called this upon Myself. YES I was going to miss the cut anyways... But I'd rather play by the rules even if I was or wasn't missing the cut. Even old Tour Pro's make a mistake sometimes. #GolfLife
Dropping within 1 club length doesn't mean I could drop on the grass outside the bunker.... I had to drop back in the bunker. Muppet move on my behalf. Rookie error for sure. Energy level at -5 at that stage. Onwards and upwards. #JustSayn #GolfLife #ItsOnMe."

Hend has won 10 times on the Asian Tour, with three of those wins co-sanctioned with the European Tour, which is now the DP World Tour

Matt Fitzpatrick suffered an unfortunate rules situation earlier this week at the Valspar Championshop.