McEvoy names Walker Cup squad

Peter McEvoy names his 29-man strong squad for next years Walker Cup matches in the USA

Parky's picture
Golfmagic Newswire
Tue, 31 Oct 2000
McEvoy names Walker Cup squad

Five members of last year's victorious Great Britain & Ireland team at Nairn have been named in a 29-strong squad for the 2001 match against the Americans at Ocean Forest in Sea Island, Georgia on August 11-12.

Luke Donald, Paul Casey, Philip Rowe and David Patrick are all students on golf scholarships at universities in the United States.

"We are conscious that a number of the players are in the United States playing collegiate golf and it is important that they know they are part of the process of selecting the team," said Captain Peter McEvoy who has scheduled the first squad get-together for next April.

Ian Campbell (Marlborough),
Paul Casey (Burhill),
Luke Donald (Beaconsfield),
Nick Dougherty (Shaw Hill),
Nigel Edwards (Whitchurch),
Jamie Elson (Kenilworth),
Graham Fox (West Kilbride),
Noel Fox (Portmarnock),
Graham Gordon (Newmachar),
David Griffiths (West Herts),
Lee Harpin (North Wales),
Craig Heap (East Kilbride),
Michael Hoey (Shandon Park),
Barry Hume (Haggs Castle),
Mark Loftus (Cowglen),
Simon Mackenzie (West Linton),
Graeme McDowell (Rathmore),
Richard McEvoy (Thorpe Hall),
Cieran McMonagle (Dunfanaghy),
Steven O'Hara (Colville Park),
David Patrick (Mortonhall),
Tim Rice (Limerick),
Philip Rowe (West Cornwall),
Zane Scotland (Woodcote Park),
Kyron Sullivan (Brynhill),
Marc Warren (East Kilbride),
Craig Watson (East Renfrewshire),
Craig Williams (Creigiau),
Gary Wolstenholme (Kilworth Springs).