WGC Match Play: Jon Rahm against Patrick Reed, Spieth with the major winners

Here is the full draw for the WGC Match Play where Jon Rahm has been drawn against Patrick Reed and Jordan Spieth headlines a group of previous major winners.

Ben Smith's picture
Mon, 21 Mar 2022
WGC Match Play: Jon Rahm against Patrick Reed, Spieth with the major winners

The draw for the 2022 WGC Match Play has taken place and as usual has thrown up some interesting groups. World No. 1 Jon Rahm will face Patrick Reed. 

More: Justin Thomas involved in rules debate at Valspar Championship

In case you weren't aware, the field is divided into 16 groups of four. From Wednesday they will commence a round robin format. 

One point is awarded for a win and half a point for a tie. The group winner progresses to the next round. All matches are played over 18 holes.

The world's top 16 golfers are the number one seed in each four, with the rest of the group randomly drawn.  

The second phase of the tournament is a knock-out. The round of 16 and quarterfinals are played on Saturday. The final will be played on Sunday.

Defending champion Billy Horschel is grouped with Thomas Pieters, Tom Hoge and Min Woo Lee. 

Bryson DeChambeau is the ninth seed and is grouped with Talor Gooch, Lee Westwood and 49-year-old Richard Bland. 

Four of the world's top players are unfortunately not in the field. Rory McIlroy, Cameron Smith and Sam Burns have withdrawn. Hideki Matsuyama is injured. 

Jordan Spieth is in a group of major champions including Justin Rose, Keegan Bradley and Adam Scott. 

The winner of the tournament will receive $2,160,000.00 and 500 FedEx Cup points. 

More: Brooks Koepka concedes he came back from injuries too soon

More: Bryson DeChambeau hits an amazing trick shot



The draw in full

Group 1

Jon Rahm (1)

Patrick Reed (23)

Cameron Young (40)

Sebastian Munoz (58)

Group 2

Collin Morikawa (2)

Jason Kokrak (22)

Sergio Garcia (43)

Robert MacIntyre (61)

Group 3

Viktor Hovland (3)

Will Zalatoris (24)

Cameron Tringale (45)

Sepp Straka (63) 

Group 4

Patrick Cantlay (4)

Sungae Im (21)

Seamus Power (42)

Keith Mitchell (62)

Group 5

Scottie Scheffler (5)

Matt Fitzpatrick (20)

Tommy Fleetwood (41)

Ian Poulter (59)

Group 6

Justin Thomas (6)

Kevin Kisner (29)

Marc Leishman (37)

Luke List (53)

Group 7

Xander Schauffele (7)

Tony Finau (18)

Lucas Herbert (39)

Takumi Kanaya (56)

Group 8 

Dustin Johnson (8)

Max Homa (30)

Matthew Wolff (38)

Mackenzie Hughes (51)

Group 9 

Bryson DeChambeau (9)

Talor Gooch (27)

Lee Westwood (47)

Richard Bland (54)

Group 10 

Louis Oosthuizen (10)

Paul Casey (19)

Alex Noren (50)

Corey Conners (36)

Group 11

Jordan Spieth (11)

Adam Scott (32)

Justin Rose (46)

Keegan Bradley (60)

Group 12

Billy Horschel (12)

Thomas Pieters (26)

Tom Hoge (33)

Min Woo Lee (49)

Group 13

Tyrrell Hatton (13)

Daniel Berger (17)

Si Woo Kim (48)

Christian Bezuidenhout (52)

Group 14

Joaquin Niemann (14)

Kevin Na (25)

Russell Henley (34)

Maverick McNealy (64)

Group 15

Abraham Ancer (15)

Webb Simpson (31)

Brian Harman (44)

Bubba Watson (57)

Group 16 

Brooks Koepka (16)

Shane Lowry (28)

Harold Varner III (35)

Erik van Rooyen (55)

Next page: Time for this golf rule to be changed?