TGL: Full roster confirmed with two big names missing out

The TGL has now confirmed its full 24-man roster, but two of the biggest names in golf appear to have missed out on selection. 

Clark and Cantlay
Clark and Cantlay

The TGL, Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy's new tech-infused golf league confirmed its full 24-man roster last night with the announcement that Patrick Cantlay, Lucas Glover, Kevin Kisner and Wyndham Clark have officially signed up.

However, two of the biggest names in the sport appear to have missed out on the call-up to the PGA Tour-backed start-up league.  

Neither World No.1 Scottie Scheffler nor 2023 FedExCup champion Viktor Hovland have been selected for the first TGL season, making them and 2023 Open champion Brian Harman the only three players currently in the OWGR top-10 to have been left out. 

It remains unclear why two of the sport's biggest names haven't signed up, but the inclusion of Clark and Cantlay will undoubtedly put to rest any rumours that both players may have had a frosty relationship with McIlroy since the 2023 Ryder Cup

Cantlay and his caddie Joe LaCava's very public bust-up with McIlroy on the 18th green at Marco Simone caught the headlines after the two players faced off in a nail-biting match in the Saturday evening foursomes, and Clark also found himself in the spotlight when he said he thought he was a better player than McIlroy days before the start of the Ryder Cup.  

With all 24 players now selected for the inaugural TGL season, the last piece of the puzzle to be confirmed is the final two teams. We will also have to wait to find out to which players will be representing which teams.  

As things stand, four teams have been officially confirmed.

  • Los Angeles Golf Club
  • TGL Boston
  • Atlanta Drive GC
  • TGL New York 

The 24 players now committed to the TGL are:

  • Tiger Woods
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Jon Rahm
  • Justin Thomas
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Collin Morikawa
  • Matthew Fitzpatrick
  • Justin Rose
  • Xander Schauffele 
  • Max Homa
  • Adam Scott
  • Billy Horschel
  • Tyrrell Hatton
  • Tommy Fleetwood
  • Shane Lowry
  • Tom Kim
  • Keegan Bradley
  • Sahith Theegala
  • Cameron Young
  • Min Woo Lee
  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Lucas Glover
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Wyndham Clark

The 24 players will go head to head in what TGL has called 'modern-match-play', with three players from each team being selected for each game night.

The season consists of 15 regular season games followed by a semi-final and a final. 

The games will take place at the So-Fi Centre, a purpose-built arena in Florida that's set up with a colossal simulator 20 times the size of a traditional simulator screen. 

The centre can host up to 2,000 fans per game night, with the first match set to commence on January 9 at 9 p.m. ET in the United States.

The games will be available to watch on ESPN and ESPN's streaming service, ESPN+.

Take me to more PGA Tour news!

Sponsored Posts