LIV Golf: How much did each player win at the Boston Invitational?

Dustin Johnson secured his first win on the LIV Golf Invitational Series as a thumping eagle putt gave him victory in a playoff against Joaquin Niemann and Anirban Lahiri.

Matt Chivers's picture
Mon, 5 Sep 2022
LIV Golf: How much did each player win at the Boston Invitational?

Dustin Johnson provided a highlight reel moment at the LIV Golf Boston Invitational on Sunday night, holing an incredible eagle putt in a playoff to seal his first win on the Saudi-backed series.

Having hit his ball into trouble with his second shot on the par-5 18th hole in regulation play, Johnson saved par to force a playoff with LIV Golf newcomers Joaquin Niemann and Anirban Lahiri.

On his 54th hole, Lahiri missed a seven-foot eagle putt for the win. He squandered this golden opportunity which would've banked him $4 million.

In the playoff, all three players went back down the 18th. Johnson found the bottom tier of the putting surface with his second shot, while Lahiri was greenside for two.

Niemann found a fairway bunker short of the green and the young Chilean was unlikely to make a birdie. It proved not to matter as the 38-year-old Johnson rattled in his eagle to seal victory at The International.

It was the two-time major champion's first win on the LIV Golf Tour and alongside Pat Perez, Patrick Reed and Talor Gooch, 4 Aces won their third consecutive team event too.

"It was going a little fast, but it was a good line! I felt like I played really well all week, I got some unlucky breaks here (18th hole) the first time around, so it owed me one and I got it," Johnson said on Sunday.

"You know the guys are playing different holes, so you've just got to handle your business. It doesn't really matter, I knew I needed a birdie on 18 in regulation.

"I felt like I hit a really good drive and hit a really good second shot - I made a good five to get in the playoff and then obviously made a really nice putt there."

Win: Dustin Johnson - $4,000,000

P-2: Joaquin Niemann - $1,812,500

P-2: Anirban Lahiri - $1,812,500

T4: Cameron Smith - $1,012,750

T4: Lee Westwood - $1,012,750

6: Talor Gooch - $800,000

7: Jason Kokrak - $675,000

8: Abraham Ancer - $625,000

T9: Louis Oosthuizen - $560,000

T9: Kevin Na - $560,000

T9: Sergio Garcia - $560,000

12: Branden Grace - $450,000

T13: Matthew Wolff - $315,000

T13: Sadom Kaewkanjana - $315,000

T15: Pat Perez - $240,667

T15: Bernd Wiesberger - $240,667

T15: Charles Howell III - $240,667

T18: Ian Poulter - $215,333

T18: Richard Bland - $215,333

T18: Bryson DeChambeau - $215,333

T21: Martin Kaymer - $171,200

T21: Laurie Canter - $171,200

T21: Paul Casey - $171,200

T21: Scott Vincent - $171,200

T21: Cameron Tringale - $171,200

T26: Matt Jones - $161,000

T26: Carlos Ortiz - $161,000

T26: Brooks Koepka - $161,000

T26: Jediah Morgan - $161,000

T30: Harold Varner III - $152,000

T30: Phachara Khongwatmai - $152,000

T30: Chase Koepka - $152,000

T30: Marc Leishman - $152,000

T30: Patrick Reed - $152,000

T35: Charl Schwartzel - $144,000

T35: Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra - $144,000

T35: Shergo Al Kurdi - $144,000

38: Sam Horsfield - $140,000

39: Graeme McDowell - $138,000

T40: Phil Mickelson - $134,000

T40: Hudson Swafford - $134,000

T40: Shaun Norris - $134,000

43: Wade Ormsby - $130,000

T44: Peter Uihlein - $127,000

T44: Adrian Otaegui - $127,000

46: Turk Pettit - $124,000

47: James Piot - $122,000

48: Sihwan Kim - $120,000

Team format

Win: 4 Aces (Talor Gooch, Dustin Johnson, Pat Perez, Patrick Reed) $3,000,000

2: Crushers (Bryson DeChambeau, Paul Casey, Charles Howell III, Anirban Lahiri), $1,500,000

3: Majesticks (Sam Horsfield, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Shergo Al Kurdi), $500,000