LIV Golf Tour Boston: Date, field, teams, payout info, course

This is everything you need to know about LIV Golf Boston, the fourth event of the fledgling circuit's controversial series. 

Ben Smith's picture
Fri, 26 Aug 2022
LIV Golf Tour Boston: Date, field, teams, payout info, course

LIV Golf Boston is the fourth $25million event of the controversial series' inaugural season. 

It is the first tournament after golf's civil war finally made its way to the courtroom after several LIV players were named in an antitrust lawsuit

Originally, there were 11 players who took legal action. Three of those players, Hudson Swafford, Matt Jones and Talor Gooch also attempted to force their way into the PGA Tour's FedEx Cup Playoffs

Related: Everything you need to know about LIV Golf

A federal judge denied their request. Subsequently, two players decided to withdraw their names from the lawsuit. Pat Perez, who previously turned heads when he worse a t-shirt made out of dollar bills at a LIV draft party, and Carlos Ortiz, have opted out of legal action

LIV Golf Boston also comes at a time when the PGA Tour revealed their masterplan to deal with LIV. 

They have announced dramatic increases to prize purses, jacked up their Player Impact Program and have pledged guaranteed cash of $500,000 for fully exempt PGA Tour members that go against their tournament winnings. 

Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy have also confirmed they will be starting a Monday night golf league, called TGL, in partnership with the PGA Tour.

Related: What is TGL? 

Greg Norman, the LIV Golf chief executive, reacted to the news by claiming that the PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan was "copying" their homework. 

Related: Talor Gooch didn't think LIV Golf fallout would be this bad

The players who remain involved in the legal action are:

  • Phil Mickelson
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Hudson Swafford
  • Matt Jones
  • Talor Gooch
  • Abraham Ancer
  • Ian Poulter
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Peter Uihlien

Where is LIV Golf Boston being played?

The tournament is being held at The International in Boston, Massachusetts. 

LIV Golf Boston date and location:

2-4 September. 

How to follow LIV Golf Boston:

You can follow the action on the LIV Golf website. 

The action will also be streamed live on their YouTube channel. 

In the United Kingdom, viewers can stream it via DAZN global app. 

One month costs £7.99 and you can download the DAZN app on PC, Apple, Android, Fire TV, Roku and your Smart TV.

Who is playing?

The field has not been named yet but it is anticipated that LIV Golf will announce as many as six new signees before the Boston event. 

It has been reported that Cameron Tringale, 35, who holds the record for the most amount of money won on the PGA Tour without a win ($17million), will be amongst the new signees

Cameron Smith is alleged to have already signed a deal with LIV Golf for a reported fee north of $100million

Elsewhere, it has been touted that Harold Varner III, Marc Leishman, Anirban Lahiri, Si Woo Kim, Jason Day and Jhonattan Vegas will be announced. 

LIV Golf Boston format:

It is a shotgun start. The 48 players are split into 12 teams of four. 

Each competitor plays his own golf ball and there will be a winner as normal. 

The tournament is held over three rounds of 54 holes

There is not cut. 

What happened in the last LIV Golf tournament?

This was the field in Bedminster:

  • Abraham Ancer
  • Richard Bland
  • Laurie Canter
  • Paul Casey
  • Eugenio Chacarra
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Hennie du Plessis
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Talor Gooch
  • Branden Grace
  • Justin Harding
  • Sam Horsfield
  • Charles Howell III
  • Yuki Inamori
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Matt Jones
  • Sadom Kaewkanjana
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Phachara Khongwatmai
  • Ryosuke Kinoshita
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Chase Koepka
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Jinichiro Kozuma
  • Graeme McDowell
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Jediah Morgan
  • Kevin Na
  • Shaun Norris
  • Louis Oosthuizen
  • Wade Ormsby
  • Carlos Ortiz
  • Pat Perez
  • Turk Pettit
  • James Piot 
  • Ian Poulter
  • David Puig (am)
  • Patrick Reed
  • Charl Schwartzel
  • Travis Smyth
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Hudson Swafford
  • Hideto Tanihara
  • Peter Uihlein
  • Scott Vincent
  • Lee Westwood
  • Bernd Wiesberger
  • Matthew Wolff

These were the teams in Bedminster:

  • 4ACES GC - Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Pat Perez, Talor Gooch
  • Cleeks GC - Martin Kaymer, Graeme McDowell, Laurie Canter, David Puig (am)
  • Crushers GC - Bryson DeChambeau, Paul Casey, Charles Howell III, Shaun Norris
  • Fireballs GC - Sergio Garcia, Carlos Ortiz, Abraham Ancer, Eugenio Chacarra 
  • HyFlyers GC - Phil Mickelson, Bernd Wiesberger, Matt Wolff, Justin Harding
  • Iron Heads GC - Kevin Na, Sadom Kaewkanjana, Phachara Khongwatmai, Scott Vincent
  • Majesticks GC - Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter, Henrik Stenson, Sam Horsfield
  • Niblicks GC - Hudson Swafford, Peter Uihlein, Turk Pettit, James Piot
  • Punch GC - Wade Ormsby, Matt Jones, Travis Smyth, Jediah Morgan
  • Smash GC - Brooks Koepka, Richard Bland, Jason Kokrak, Chase Koepka
  • Stinger GC - Louis Oosthuizen, Hennie du Plessis, Branden Grace, Charl Schwartzel
  • Torque GC - Hideto Tanihara, Ryosuke Kinoshita, Jinichiro Kozuma, Yuki Inamori

This was the payout info from Bedminster:

1: Henrik Stenson, -11, $4,000,000

T-2: Matthew Wolff, -9, $1,812,500

T-2: Dustin Johnson, -9, $1,812,500

4: Carlos Ortiz, -8, $1,050,000

5: Patrick Reed, -7, $975,000

T-6: Paul Casey, -4, $648,000

T-6: Sergio Garcia, -4, $648,000

T-6: Turk Pettit, -4, $648,000

T-6: Lee Westwood, -4, $648,000

T-6: Talor Gooch, -4, $648,000

T-11: Brooks Koepka, -3, $495,000

T-11: Martin Kaymer, -3, $495,000

T-13: Branden Grace, -2, $293,333

T-13: Ian Poulter, -2, $293,333

T-13: Phachara Khongwatmai, -2, $293,333

T-16: Chase Koepka, -1, $236,000

T-16: Sam Horsfield, -1, $236,000

18: Charl Schwartzel, E, $226,000

T-19: Matt Jones, +1, $200,000

T-19: Louis Oosthuizen, +1, $200,000

T-19: Justin Harding, +1, $200,000

22: Travis Smyth, +2, $172,000

T-23: Shaun Norris, +3, $168,000

T-23: Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra, +3, $168,000

T-23: Peter Uihlein, +3, $168,000

T-26: Laurie Canter, +4, $160,000

T-26: James Piot, +4, $160,000

T-26: Jinichiro Kozuma, +4, $160,000

T-26: Jason Kokrak, +4, $160,000

T-26: Charles Howell III, +4, $160,000

T-31: Hudson Swafford, +5, $151,000

T-31: Bryson DeChambeau, +5, $151,000

T-31: Pat Perez, +5, $151,000

T-31: Bernd Wiesberger, +5, $151,000

35: Phil Mickelson, +6, $146,000

T-36: Sadom Kaewkanjana, +7, $141,000

T-36: Graeme McDowell, +7, $141,000

T-36: Ryosuke Kinoshita, +7, $141,000

T-36: Kevin Na, +7, $141,000

T-40: Abraham Ancer, +8, $135,000

T-40: Richard Bland, +8, $135,000

T-42: David Puig, +9, Amateur

T-42: Scott Vincent, +9, $132,000

T-44: Hennie DuPlessis, +10, $127,000

T-44: Yuki Inamori, +10, $127,000

46: Wade Orsmby, +11, $124,000

47: Hideto Tanihara, +12, $122,000

48: Jediah Morgan, +16, $120,000

And the team payout info from Bedminster:

1: 4 Aces (Johnson, Perez, Reed, Gooch), -25, $3,000,000

2: Majesticks (Westwood, Horsfield, Poulter, Stenson), -17, $1,500,000

3: Fireballs (Garcia, Ancer, Ortiz, Lopez), -12, $500,000

Who won the previous LIV Golf events?

LIV Golf Invitational Centurion Club: Charl Schwartzel

LIV Golf Invitational Portland: Branden Grace

LIV Golf Invitational Bedminster: Henrik Stenson 

Next page: Shane Lowry rolls his eyes as Westwood claims PGA Tour "bullies"