The golf major trend Patrick Reed won't want to learn about...

Patrick Reed... beware of The Masters hangover! 

Andy Roberts's picture
Tue, 29 May 2018

The golf major trend Patrick Reed won't want to learn about...

Patrick Reed may have clinched his maiden major triumph at The Masters in April, but if recent results are anything to go by at Augusta National then the American will likely endure a pretty barren spell for the rest of the season.

Scrolling through the archives of the last 10 Masters winners since Trevor Immelman prevailed in 2008, and only three golfers have ever gone on to win another tournament in the same season (Jordan Spieth won three times in 2015 including the next major at the US Open, Bubba Watson won the WGC-HSBC in 2014 and Adam Scott won The Barclays in 2013). 

Looking at Reed's form on the PGA Tour since slipping on the green jacket, and he finished tied eighth at the Wells Fargo and then tied 41st at The Players Championship - no doubt a little ring rusty from balancing all the interviews with worldwide media channels. 


The remaining seven Masters champions of the past 10 years, however, have all had pretty shocking ends to the season. None more so than 2016 Masters champion Danny Willett, who yes, is apparently still alive. 

And when it comes to the remaining majors that season for the year's Masters champion, well, only Spieth, Scott and Schwartzel really excelled themselves as the below stats disclose...

2017: DANNY WILLETT - T21 - T37 - MC
2016: SERGIO GARCIA - T37 - T53 - T79
2015: JORDAN SPIETH - 1 - T4- 2
2014: BUBBA WATSON - MC - MC - T64
2013: ADAM SCOTT - T45 - T3 - T5
2012: BUBBA WATSON - MC - T23 - T11
2011: CHARL SCHWARTZEL - T9 - T16 - T12
2010: PHIL MICKELSON - T4 - T48 - T12
2009: ANGEL CABRERA - T54 - T24 - T63
2008: TREVOR IMMELMAN - T65 - T19 - MC