Golf rules: Did you know about this UNIQUE rule that lets you re-tee your ball?!

This is definitely helpful for us amateur hacks...

Ben Smith's picture
Mon, 13 Dec 2021

Golf rules: Did you know about this UNIQUE rule that lets you re-tee your ball?!

Playing my usual Sunday roll-up this weekend I saw something pretty embarrasing. 

Granted, I have done this before but it got me thinking. 

The player in question made a stroke at the ball on the tee box and completely whiffed. He did laugh at what he had done. 

Barely striking the ball, his battered and probably found Titleist ProV1 remained in the teeing area. 

But did you know that you have a variety of options under Rule 6.2b(6). 

MORE: TIGER WOODS OWES US AN EXPLANATION

MORE: CARLOS SAINZ SHOWS OFF HIS GOLF SWING

MORE: TOMMY FLEETWOOD TELLS FUNNY TIGER WOODS STORY

MORE: HOW GOOD IS CHARLIE WOODS AT GOLF?

NEWS: HEROIC GREENKEEPER SAVES A LIFE

NEWS: FIRE BREAKS OUT AT THE BELFRY

What you need to know:

The rule states, "if the player's ball in play is in the teeing area after a stroke (such as a teed ball after a stroke that missed the ball), or after taking relief, the player may lift or move the ball without penalty, and play that ball or another ball from anywhere within the teeing area from a tee or the ground under, including playing the ball as it lies."

Obviously, you still need to count the stroke you made at the ball with your first, hopeless swing, but under this rule, you're able to re-tee the ball and hit your second from the tee box in the same way.  

It could no doubt save you from embarrasment and the struggle of having to play at the ball again on a long par-4 from the deck from the tee box.

This rule certainly helpful for us amateur hacks. 

NEWS: 150-YEAR-OLD GOLF CLUB AT RISK OF CLOSURE

NEWS: ILLEGAL RAVES AT UK GOLF CLUB

NEXT PAGE: GOLF PROS REACT TO F1 DRAMA