Matt Kuchar may have failed in his bid to successfully defend the Mayakoba Golf Classic at the weekend, but he did finish in style with a final-round 62, highlighted by a stunning hole-in-one at the par-3 eighth.
Kuchar, 41, was competing on the El Cameleon course in Mexico for the first time since his controversial victory where he only paid his stand-in caddie an intial $5,000 for his $1.3 million first-prize cheque.
Back with his regular caddie on the bag some 12 months later, Kuchar hit one of the shots of the week when holing out his tee shot on the eighth hole during his final round.
WATCH THE VIDEO BELOW TO SEE KUCHAR'S ACE...
What the video doesn't pick up is Kuchar claiming on the tee that his ball "didn't go in but it's close".
That comment only played into the hands of those on social media, with one fan writing: "After Kuchar's ace at Mayakoba, he said "I don't think it went in but I bet it's close." He then proceeded to argue with the rules official claiming that the ball stopped short and was then knocked in by an outside force, hoping to avoid the bar tab."
After Kuchar's ace at the Mayakoba, he said 'I don't think it went in, but I bet it's close.' He then proceeded to argue with the rules official claiming that the ball stopped short and was then knocked in by an outside force, hoping to avoid the bar tab.— Brock R (@Golfingbrock) November 18, 2019
Kuchar skipping oout in that bar tab. pic.twitter.com/lZGJASghwN— jon_e5 (@E5Jon) November 18, 2019
Incredibly some five minutes later, Brian Gay aced the par-3 10th.
WATCH THE VIDEO BELOW TO SEE GAY'S HOLE-IN-ONE...
Both Kuchar and Gay finished on 12-under par for the tournament, just outside the top 10, but some eight strokes off the pace.
The final round has gone into a Monday finish with darkness preventing the tournament from ending on Sunday evening.