As an amateur golfer in the sand the first thing you want to do is get the ball out and onto the short stuff.
How many times have you left it in the beach, chunked the ball onto the first cut of rough or bladed it off the planet?
It's easily done, but how many times have you managed to hit yourself in the face when attempting a routine bunker shot?
It happened recently to this player, as shown on the popular Instagram page @golfrules_blakey.
Take a look:
It definitely looks like that one would hurt just a little bit.
But the player seems to be okay in the end.
It's unlikely they would be able to do this again even if they tried.
"What is the ruling on wearing white pants?"
"Any out is a good out"
"The definition of 'hurts so good'"
"Bet that left a mark"
If, like us, you are unsure of what the actual ruling is here then they also have you covered.
There is no penalty here as the deflection of the player's ball in motion after their stroke is considered accidental.
This is under Rule 11.1.