One of the most iconic PGA Tour events has just got a new sponsor

The CJ Group has confirmed they will sponsor the PGA Tour's event named after the late, great Byron Nelson for the next 10 years.

Ben Smith's picture
Tue, 5 Sep 2023
One of the most iconic PGA Tour events has just got a new sponsor

The CJ Group has confirmed it will sponsor the PGA Tour's iconic tournament named after the legendary Byron Nelson for the next 10 years. 

The news was confirmed by the South Korean conglomerate on 4 September. 

Their sponsorship of the tournament - held currently at TPC Craig Ranch in Dallas - will begin next May. 

Named after the late, great Byron Nelson, it is somewhat surprising the event will not feature as one of the tour's 'signature' events which features bumper prize purses. 

Nelson won 52 PGA Tour titles, including five majors, and is widely considered to be one of the greatest golfers of all-time alongside the likes of Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Arnold Palmer, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones, Sam Snead, Tom Watson and Gary Player. 

The Byron Nelson was first established in 1944 and was the first event to bear the name of a golfer. 

CJ Group previously sponsored the CJ Cup. The first three editions of that tournament were held in South Korea from 2017 to 2019. 

Because of the pandemic, the tournament relocated to the U.S. for two years from 2020. 

The CJ Cup Byron Nelson will be played from 2-5 May 2024 between the Masters and PGA Championship and will have a total prize money of $9.5m. 

In a statement, CJ said: "Over the past three years that we've hosted our tournament in the United States, our sales and corporate image in the American market have grown exponentially.

"We've reached this decision to strengthen our marketing activities in the U.S. We're currently discussing ways to provide opportunities for Korean tour golfers to play at our event."

Byron Nelson previous winners:

2023: Jason Day

2022: K.H. Lee

2021: K.H Lee

2020 - Not played

2018 - Aaron Wise

2017 - Billy Horschel

2016 - Sergio Garcia

2015 - Steven Bowditch

2014 - Brendan Todd

2013 - Bae Sang-moon 

2012 - Jason Dufner

2011 - Keegan Bradley

2010 - Jason Day

PGA Tour signature events 2024

• The Sentry (January 1-7)
• AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am (January 29-February 4)
• The Genesis Invitational (February 12-18)
• Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard (March 4-10)
• RBC Heritage (April 15-21)
• Wells Fargo Championship (May 6-12)
• the Memorial Tournament presented by Workday (June 3-9)
• Travelers Championship (June 17-23)

Still here? 

Read more:

Watched our latest YouTube video?