We've all heard of topped tee shots, but smashing your drive directly into a tree and then deflecting the ball is pretty special.
A video is currently circulating on the popular Instagram page @qolfrules_questions showing something fairly interesting.
It shows a woman setting up to hit her drive but unfortunately it all went a bit wrong when she came into impact.
The ball is topped and it appears it flies directly into a tree in front of her then heads back towards the player.
Naturally, there is not too much this player can do and they have no choice but to deflect the ball in motion.
At least they can see the funny side of it though, and she falls to the floor in fits of laughter.
Check out the video here:
So what is the answer?
The answer is that there is no penalty.
The player is entitled to play the ball as it lies or take relief for a penalty of one and proceed under the unplayable rules.
This is under 11.1 in the Rules of Golf.
You are entitled to proceed under the unplayable rule anywhere on the course even if someone else doesn't think your ball is unplayable.
The ball has also come to rest outside the teeing area.
Therefore, they are not entitled to re-tee their ball for no penalty.
But they can re-tee it for a penalty stroke of one.