Mackenzie Hughes committed a cardinal sin at the Farmers Insurance Open on the PGA Tour: he played the wrong ball.
Hughes, 31, explained his mistake at Torrey Pines on his Twitter page after one punter remarked he had ruined his round.
He had played his first round at the easier North Course and eventually signed for a 2-under 70 in a field packed with talent.
Billy Horschel raced into the lead with a stunning 63 but was being chased by Jon Rahm and a return-to-form Rickie Fowler.
Well I hit my second shot on the par 5 9th short left of the green. I went to where it was marked with a flag and hit my chip to 6 feet. When I marked it I realized it wasn’t my ball. Turns out it was about 8 feet from where the flag was. Went from maybe 4 to 7 pretty quick. https://t.co/jvQRuu95fh— Mackenzie Hughes (@MacHughesGolf) January 27, 2022
Canadian Hughes explained that he hit his second shot onto the par-5 ninth hole (his last) which landed short left of the green.
He went to where it was marked with a red flag and duly played his shot. But a world of pain was about to unravel.
From there, he hit his chip to six feet but realized that it wasn't his ball and his was actually eight feet from where the red flag was.
That turned what was a likely four into a seven pretty quick. Of course, his post has already been picked upon by social media users.
Hughes has won once on the PGA Tour. That win came at the RSM Classic in 2016 with a five-man playoff win.
At least Hughes is taking it in his stride. There were no complaints from him. Still, that ones gotta hurt.
You could definitely argue Hughes was screwed over here. But he is ultimately responsible for playing his own ball.
I guess even with marshals you should still verify your ball— its only me. don't worry (@thecwoody) January 27, 2022
Well Mac you do get some real bad breaks. Way to show resilience and thanks for sharing. Good luck!— Brett Wilkinson (@wilke7425) January 27, 2022
Any explanation from a rules official or the marshal that marked it with the flag ? But I guess in the end it’s your responsibility to make sure it’s your ball . Go get it tomorrow— Kevin Crofts (@crofts_kevin) January 27, 2022
Sadly, the marshall either dropped an illegal ball or found the wrong ball. This should have been available for a review @PGATOUR!— GREAT WHITE NORTH (@Crazy_CanuckCan) January 27, 2022