PGA Tour Champions: Pro gets DQ'd (again) for breaking green-reading rule

This pro, who once fell foul of golf rules, has been disqualified again on the PGA Tour Champions.

PGA Tour Champions: Pro gets DQ'd (again) for breaking green-reading rule
PGA Tour Champions: Pro gets DQ'd (again) for breaking green-reading rule

PGA Tour Champions pro Alex Cejka fell foul of the rules of golf once again over the weekend when he was disqualified from the Regions Tradition. 

More: Pro-Patrick Reed account strikes again

Whilst Steve Stricker was wiping away tears from his memorable return to golf with a stunning victory at TPC Sugarloaf, Cejka might have felt a bit differently. 

At the 2019 Honda Classic, Cejka was booted out of the tournament through 14 holes after the yardage book he was using was deemed too large.

It appeared Cejka had not read the fine print as the rule on the size of yardage books had only just come into effect. 

And now Cejka has made another misstep. It was during the third round of the PGA Tour Champions' first major at the weekend that Cejka was disqualified. Again. 

According to the PGA Tour Champions Rules Committee, Cejka was disqualified for using a "yardage book that had not been approved for the competition". 

The 51-year-old German was the defending champion and at the time had carded rounds of 69, 74 and 76 and was 10 strokes behind leader Stricker. 

His disqualification came as a result of being in violation of Model Local Rule G-11.

It says that: "During a round, the player may use only the yardage book(s) approved by the Committee. This restriction also applies to any other maps of the course, including hole-location sheets.

"Additional restrictions apply to handwritten notes and any other materials used by the player that could help read the line of play on the putting green." 

This change came into effect at the beginning of the year. PGA Tour members were informed of the changes last November.

More: Jordan Spieth was flustered by an early tee time announcement

More: Golf fans react to Rocco Mediate's joggers

PGA Tour Champions: Pro gets DQ'd (again) for breaking green-reading rule

These days, pros get traditional green information, but they are not allowed raw data of slopes and grades. 

Some people have argued the information that has been used by pros in recent years undermines green-reading. 

The changes would have undoubtedly had a huge impact on players such as Bryson DeChambeau, known for his mathematical and scientific approach to the game. 

The purpose of the change, the PGA Tour said, was to return the game to a position where players "use their skill, judgment and feel". 

Players are also prohibited from transferring their old notes to their new, Tour-approved yardage books. 

One PGA Tour caddie previously claimed that cheating would invariably happen.

Cejka has yet to comment on all of this. But one thing is for sure, next time he'll read the fine print. 

More: PGA Tour pro hauled garbage to keep the dream alive

Now watch our latest YouTube video:

Next page: PGA Tour pro reflects on viral clip 

Sponsored Posts