Golf rules: Does this count as a holed putt if the ball RICOCHETS off a leaf?

Have you ever found yourself in this situation? Well here is the answer. 

Ben Smith's picture
Sun, 31 Oct 2021

Golf rules: Does this count as a holed putt if the ball RICOCHETS off a leaf?

The clocks have now changed meaning there is going to be a scramble every day to get your golf fix. 

And that change also signifies how the weather will change in the coming months. 

In the United Kingdom, that of course means we will have to brave the elements as the winter takes hold. 

And we will frustratingly have to keep clearing the greens of leaves and loose impediments. 

MORE: PGA TOUR PRO REVEALS THE JOB HE LOVED THE MOST

MORE: TWO MEN CHARGED WITH U.S. OPEN TICKET SCAM

MORE: LIVING LIKE BRYSON DECHAMBEAU FOR 24 HOURS

MORE: FOX SNATCHES GOLF BALL IN THE BUNKER

An interesting video was again posted on the popular Instagram page @golfrules_questions with an interesting situation. 

The player hits a mid-range putt and there are a few leaves in the line. 

Of course, a player is within their right to remove loose impediments and pat down any spike marks. 

But what happens when the ball ricochets off a leaf and then goes into the hole? 

Take a look at the video here: 

The answer is yes it does count as a holed putt. 

While it looks like the ball could conceivably be used as a buffer to usher it towards the hole, so long as it was already there it is fine. 

You are not permitted to place loose impediments in a position to assist your shot. 

But if they were blown there by the wind then you can of course leave them there. 

Players are now allowed to only remove a few loose impediments to create a pathway. 

NEWS: PAIGE SPIRANAC HAS A MESSAGE FOR THE HATERS

NEWS: PGA MERCHANDISE SHOW TO RETURN IN PERSON

NEWS: COUNTERFEITERS BUSTED IN CHINA

NEXT PAGE: TIGER WOODS' NIECE ANNOUNCES ENGAGEMENT