Rory Sabbatini was disqualified after round one of The RSM Classic on the PGA Tour for having a "non-conforming external attachment to the face of a club."
The PGA Tour confirmed that he was disqualified after his first round in which he shot 4-under par at the Seaside course.
"Rory Sabbatini DQ from The RSM Classic due to a violation of Rule 4.1. Sabbatini had a non-conforming external attachment to the face of a club he used during the round," the PGA Tour said on Twitter.
According to Rex Hoggard of the GolfChannel, Sabbatini had a sticker on one of his club faces.
GolfDigest reported that the bizarre rules mishap came from when it was revealed that a small, adhesive reflected sticker was left on one of his fairway woods.
They reported the sticker was from a company called Foresight and the sticker feeds data to machines like launch monitors.
MORE: JUSTIN THOMAS ROASTS BRYSON DECHAMBEAU
MORE: NELLY KORDA CHANGES HER COACH
MORE: SCHEFFLER HIRES BUBBA WATSON'S FORMER CADDIE
MORE: TYRRELL HATTON THROWS MORE CLUBS
Rory Sabbatini DQ from The RSM Classic due to a violation of Rule 4.1. Sabbatini had a non-conforming external attachment to the face of a club he used during the round.— PGA TOUR Communications (@PGATOURComms) November 18, 2021
Sabbatini, 45, an Olympic silver medalist, has won six times on the PGA Tour.
His best finish in a major came when he tied for second at the 2007 Masters.
Over the years the South-African born Slovak has drawn criticism after he has been routinely embroiled in controversy.
These include reportedly yelling at a fan who had located his ball at the 2011 Northern Trust.
Rory Sabbatini has been disqualified from the RSM Classic for violating Rule 4.1, having a non-conforming external attachment to the face of his club. According to Tour official there was a sticker attached to his club face that is not allowed under the Rules of Golf.— Rex Hoggard (@RexHoggardGC) November 18, 2021
He also drew criticism after getting upset with slow play at the 2005 Booz Allen Classic.
Sabbatini walked off the green and to the next tee box and left his partner Ben Crane to finish the hole by himself.
He later apologised.
Sabbatini is yet to comment on his disqualification.
No pictures have yet surfaced of the infraction which led to his disqualification.