Golf rules: Player executes an ICY shot perfectly but did he incur a penalty?

This shot looked fairly tricky... but what is the ruling?

Ben Smith's picture
Wed, 15 Dec 2021

Golf rules: Player executes an ICY shot perfectly but did he incur a penalty?

Winter golf is here and it sometimes presents interesting scenarios. 

Here, we have a young man who is playing with a pal and his golf ball ends up on a frozen pond. 

Quite how you're supposed to safely play this shot is anyone's guess. 

But our protagonist is not scared and gives it a go, and in fact actually plays a really good shot in the end. 

We're not quite sure where he is playing at, but it looks like a beautiful golf course. 

MORE: JUSTIN THOMAS ACCUSES MJ OF CHEATING AT GOLF

MORE: SPIDERMAN ACTOR SHARES FUNNY IAN POULTER STORY

WATCH THE VIDEO BELOW

MORE: BUBBA WATSON'S INTERESTING WEEK ON THE PGA TOUR

MORE: MEET THE TEAMS AT THE PNC CHAMPIONSHIP

The player crouches over gingerly and takes a practice stroke very carefully. Then he pulls the trigger.

It would only take a small movement or slip and he would fall in. 

But if you watch carefully you can see he gently grounds his club on the ice. 

So what is the play here? Is it a penalty?

The answer is no, the player doesn't incur a penalty. 

This action would only be a penalty in certain areas of a bunker, as per Rule 17.1

Well, at least now you know. 

EQUIPMENT: THE BEST VICE BEANIES

EQUIPMENT: CHEAPEST GOLF CAPS THIS CHRISTMAS

NEWS: GOLF IS BOOMING WORLDWIDE

THE LOST ART OF HIP TURN

NEXT PAGE: BEST DRILLS USING A HEADCOVER