Golf rules: What happened to this player who hit his ball down his own jumper?

Have you ever seen anything like this on the golf course?!

Matt Chivers's picture
Mon, 22 Nov 2021

Golf rules: What happened to this player who hit his ball down his own jumper?

Many strange things can happen on the golf course, but in this video below, you would struggle to find something more extraordinary. 

A golfer is standing in a hazard and it looks as though his ball is sat between the edge of the grass and the rocks. He is faced with a very hard shot.

He swings down and his club makes an unhealthy noise when it connects. The ball popped straight upwards and it landed under his chin and into his jumper.

Personally, I have never seen anything like this happen on a golf course and I don't think any of the golfers in the video had either.

RELATED: "HE IS A SPECIAL BOY": EUROPEAN LEGEND SAM TORRANCE ON PGA TOUR STAR PLAYER

His playing partners burst into laughter as his ball was trapped under his clothes, but as golfrules_questions rightfully point out, there needs to be a proper ruling in this situation.

What does the player need to do now to put his ball back in play? And is there an applicable penalty for this situation?

There is no penalty for a ball that lands in your jumper, however, a proper procedure needs to take place in order to get his ball back on the ground legally.

He should take the ball from his jumper and drop it within one club-length of the spot directly below where the ball came to rest.

RELATED: BROOKS KOEPKA IS NO LONGER A FREE AGENT AFTER SIGNING FOR CLEVELAND/SRIXON

The spot directly below where the ball came to rest is within the yellow penalty area. The drop should also be no closer to the hole.

Although this is an extremely rare occurrence on the golf course, it is always worth knowing as many rules as possible so that you have no disruptions during your game.

NEXT PAGE: BRYSON DECHAMBEAU AS A TEEN: 14-YEAR-OLD WAS ALWAYS DESTINED FOR SUPERSTARDOM