The Players Championship 2023: Everything you need to know

The Players Championship 2023: Streaming, tee times, prize purse information, FAQ. This is all you need to know about TPC Sawgrass.

Ben Smith's picture
Sat, 11 Mar 2023
The Players Championship 2023: Everything you need to know

The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass is known in the golf world as the unofficial fifth major. 

That title is perhaps a little bit off the mark this year given that the defending champion, Cameron Smith, was banned from playing. 

Smith captured the Players in simply epic fashion last year by flirting with a watery grave at the famous par-3 17th. 

He eventually did find the water at the 72nd hole but mustered one of the most incredible up-and-downs in recent memory to close out the win. 

That up-and-down perhaps wasn't as good as the one Smith found on the famous Road Hole at St. Andrews on the way to lifting the Claret Jug. 

Then Smith bolted to the LIV Golf League for north of $100m and got himself banned from the PGA Tour

Smith joked he might turn up to TPC Sawgrass this week as a spectator anyway. "Might be funny," Smith said. 

Nevertheless, the 2023 Players Championship promises to be one of the standout events of the year. 

GolfMagic has decided to write this handy guide giving you all the information you need to know. 

Scottie Scheffler will take a two-shot lead going into the final round here. 

If he were to win, he would become only the third player in history to hold the Masters and the Players title at the same time. 

The other two? Tiger Woods and Jack Nicklaus

There is an FAQ at the bottom of the page: 

More GolfMagic articles from the 2023 Players?

The Players 2023, Round Four tee times and pairings:

All times ET

Tee No. 1

7:40 a.m. – Sahith Theegala
7:44 a.m. – Sepp Straka, Adam Scott
7:53 a.m. – Patton Kizzire. Aaron Baddeley
8:02 a.m. – Kevin Kisner, Will Zalatoris
8:11 a.m. – Justin Thomas, Tom Kim
8:20 a.m. – Scott Stallings, Ben Martin
8:29 a.m. – Joel Dahmen, Matthias Schwab
8:38 a.m. – Eric Cole, Chesson Hadley
8:47 a.m. – Alex Smalley, Jerry Kelly
8:56 a.m. – Maverick McNealy, Stephan Jaeger
9:11 a.m. – Shane Lowry, Keith Mitchell
9:20 a.m. – Austin Smotherman, Brendon Todd
9:29 a.m. – Sam Ryder, Sam Burns
9:38 a.m. – Brian Harman, Xander Schauffele
9:47 a.m. – Lucas Glover, Danny Willett
9:56 a.m. – Nate Lashley, Will Gordon
10:05 a.m. – Mark Hubbard, Gary Woodland
10:15 a.m. – Taylor Pendrith, Russell Henley
10:25 a.m. – Kramer Hickok, Tyler Duncan
10:35 a.m. – Cameron Young, Ryan Fox
10:50 a.m. – Francesco Molinari, Davis Thompson
11:00 a.m. – Tony Finau, Byeong Hun An
11:10 a.m. – Brandon Wu, Wyndham Clark
11:20 a.m. – Garrick Higgo, Hideki Matsuyama
11:30 a.m. – Tyrrell Hatton, Max Homa
11:40 a.m. – Ben Griffin, Si Woo Kim
11:50 a.m. – Collin Morikawa, Adam Svensson
12:00 p.m. – Jason Day, Viktor Hovland
12:10 p.m. – Taylor Moore, Justin Suh
12:20 p.m. – Dylan Wu, Adam Hadwin
12:35 p.m. – Rickie Fowler, Patrick Cantlay
12:45 p.m. – Denny McCarthy, Jordan Spieth
12:55 p.m. – Taylor Montgomery, Justin Rose
1:05 p.m. – David Lingmerth, Tom Hoge
1:15 p.m. – Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Sungjae Im
1:25 p.m. – Aaron Rai, Chad Ramey
1:35 p.m. – Cam Davis, Tommy Fleetwood
1:45 p.m. – Scottie Scheffler, Min Woo Lee

The Players 2023 field:

Alexander, Tyson
An, Byeong Hun
Armour, Ryan
Baddeley, Aaron
Barnes, Erik
Bezuidenhout, Christiaan
Bradley, Keegan
Bramlett, Joseph
Brehm, Ryan
Buckley, Hayden
Burns, Sam
Cantlay, Patrick
Cink, Stewart
Clark, Wyndham
Cole, Eric
Conners, Corey
Dahmen, Joel
Davis, Cam
Day, Jason
Detry, Thomas
Duncan, Tyler
Echavarria, Nico
Endycott, Harrison
English, Harris
Finau, Tony
Fitzpatrick, Matt
Fleetwood, Tommy
Fowler, Rickie
Fox, Ryan
Frittelli, Dylan
Ghim, Doug
Glover, Lucas
Gordon, Will
Griffin, Ben
Griffin, Lanto
Grillo, Emiliano
Hadley, Chesson
Hadwin, Adam
Hahn, James
Hardy, Nick
Harman, Brian
Hatton, Tyrrell
Henley, Russell
Herbert, Lucas
Hickok, Kramer
Higgo, Garrick
Hodges, Lee
Hoge, Tom
Homa, Max
Horschel, Billy
Hossler, Beau
Hovland, Viktor
Hubbard, Mark
Hughes, Mackenzie
Im, Sungjae
Jaeger, Stephan
Kelly, Jerry
Kim, S.H.
Kim, Si Woo
Kim, Tom
Kirk, Chris
Kisner, Kevin
Kitayama, Kurt
Kizzire, Patton
Knox, Russell
Kraft, Kelly
Kuchar, Matt
Laird, Martin
Lashley, Nate
Lee, K.H.
Lee, Min Woo
Lingmerth, David
Lipsky, David
List, Luke
Long, Adam
Lower, Justin
Lowry, Shane
Malnati, Peter
Martin, Ben
Matsuyama, Hideki
McCarthy, Denny
McGreevy, Max
McIlroy, Rory
McNealy, Maverick
Merritt, Troy
Mitchell, Keith
Molinari, Francesco
Montgomery, Taylor
Moore, Taylor
Morikawa, Collin
Mullinax, Trey
NeSmith, Matthew
Noren, Alex
Novak, Andrew
Palmer, Ryan
Pendrith, Taylor
Piercy, Scott
Poston, J.T.
Power, Seamus
Putnam, Andrew
Rahm, Jon
Rai, Aaron
Ramey, Chad
Reavie, Chez
Redman, Doc
Riley, Davis
Rodgers, Patrick
Rose, Justin
Ryder, Sam
Schauffele, Xander
Scheffler, Scottie
Schenk, Adam
Schwab, Matthias
Scott, Adam
Shelton, Robby
Sigg, Greyson
Simpson, Webb
Smalley, Alex
Smotherman, Austin
Spaun, J.J.
Spieth, Jordan
Stallings, Scott
Straka, Sepp
Streb, Robert
Streelman, Kevin
Suh, Justin
Svensson, Adam
Tarren, Callum
Taylor, Nick
Theegala, Sahith
Thomas, Justin
Thompson, Davis
Thompson, Michael
Todd, Brendon
Tway, Kevin
Vegas, Jhonattan
Wallace, Matt
Watney, Nick
Willett, Danny
Wise, Aaron
Woodland, Gary
Wu, Brandon
Wu, Dylan
Young, Cameron
Zalatoris, Will 

The Players 2023 prize purse, payout info

Total prize purse: $25m

WIN - $4,500,000

2. $2,725,000

3. $1,725,000

4. $1,225,000

5. $1,025,000

6. $906,250


8. $781,250

9. $731,250

10. $681,250

11. $631,250

12. $581,250

13. $531,250

14. $481,250

15. $456,250

16. $431,250

17. $406,250

18. $381,250

19. $356,250

20. $331,250

21. $306,250

22. $281,250

23. $261,250

24. $241,250

25. $221,250

26. $201,250

27. $193,750

28. $186,250

29. $178,750

30. $171,250

31. $163,750

32. $156,250

33. $148,750

34. $142,500

35. $136,250

36. $130,000

37. $123,750

38. $118,750

39. $113,750

40. $108,750

41. $103,750

42. $98,750

43. $93,750

44. $88,750

45. $83,750

46. $78,750

47. $73,750

48. $69,750

49. $66,250

50. $64,250

51. $62,750

52. $61,250

53. $60,250

54. $59,250

55. $58,750

56. $58,250

57. $57,750

58. $57,250

59. $56,750

60. $56,250

61. $55,750

62. $55,250

63. $54,750

64. $54,250

65. $53,750

The Players 2023 FAQ

How can I watch?


NBC, 1-6 p.m. ET

How can I stream it?

PGA Tour LIVE/ESPN+, 6:45 a.m.-6 p.m.


PGA Tour LIVE/ESPN+, 7:45 a.m.-6 p.m.

Stream 1: Main feed, 7:45 a.m.-1 p.m.; Featured group: 1-6 p.m.

Stream 2: Marquee group, 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m.; Featured group: 1-6 p.m.

Stream 3: Featured Groups, 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m.; Featured hole, 1-6 p.m.

Stream 4: Featured holes, 8:15 a.m.-1 p.m.; Featured hole, 1-6 p.m.

In the UK?

Sky Sports (All times GMT)

Sunday - 1400-2200 - The Players LIVE! (pre-1400 available via the red button)

Is there a cut?

Yes, after 36-holes. 

The top 65 players and ties will made it through to the weekend

Top storylines?

The Players Championship is the first of five events during the 2022-23 season offering 600 FedExCup points to the winner, along with the four major championships.

The field includes 44 of the top 50 players in the Official World Golf Ranking and 29 of the top 30 players in the FedExCup standings.

This is the 49th playing of The Players Championship and 41st since the tournament moved to TPC Sawgrass in 1982.

This is the richest tournament in PGA Tour history. 

What is the playoff format?

It is played over an aggregate of three holes. Competitors in a playoff will play holes 16, 17 and 18. 

If tied, they will be sudden death in the order of 17-18-16. 

Next page: PGA Tour schedule 2023